Board Of Management

The school operates under the patronage of the Diocese of Kerry, under the Trusteeship of the Presentation Sisters and fully supports the religious and educational philosophy of the founder Nano Nagle. The school is managed by a Board of Management, is funded by the Department of Education and Skills and operates in accordance with the provisions of the Education Act 1998, other legislation and within the guidelines and regulations set down by that Department. The composition of the Board of Management is as follows:

  1. Two direct nominees of the Patron.
  2. Two parents of children enrolled in the school (one being a mother and the other being a father), elected by the general body of parents of children enrolled in the school.
  3. The Principal Teacher (or Acting Principal Teacher) of the school.
  4. One other teacher elected by the teaching staff of the school.
  5. Two members nominated by the other six Board Members to represent the wider community.

The Board of Management of Sacred Heart Primary School for the term 2015 - 2019 is constituted as follows:

Fr. Seán Jones:  Patron’s Nominee

Orla Hickey: (Chairperson).

Hilary O Callaghan and Mick Boyce:  Parents’ Nominees

Ann Dillon:  Staff Nominee 

John Hickey (Principal & Secretary), 

Brian Hennebery and Ciara Looney:  Community Nominees